Web Banner Background 02.png

Alaska

1/4

SEX

BREED

AGE

COLOR

HAIR

Female

Shepard Mix

5 years

Beige & Brown

Medium- short

Meet

Alaska

Hi, my name is Alaska, and I am a senior girl that is looking for a special home to settle into. I was a surrender because I was very nervous around dogs, people that I had not met before, and small children. The good news is that I am doing so much better since being in the rescue - I am meeting many different people every day, and feeling more confident as I learn that I am safe here. Loud noises can still startle me on occasion, but I'm learning that I do not need to be so sensitive to sounds. As well, at the rescue, I have learned that I really do love to sit at my person's feet all day while they work on a computer!

I am a smart girl who knows commands such as "sit: and "high 5", and I am really good on leash, but I am still learning not to pull - I just get so excited to go see some new things out in the world! I really dislike being confined in a kennel, and my favorite thing to do is getting outside to explore nature! Although they said I had hip dysplasia, I have no trouble running alongside my person, and I have been told that I walk at a really brisk pace! I do have a lot of energy, and would love to learn how to play fetch or even tuggy. 🥰

I am hoping for a family with older children, or even a couple, who might want a calmer dog, and who may have some experience with dogs who were not socialized properly while growing up, and patience to help me work through my fears. I would love to meet with a dog behaviouralist (which the Rescue would help coordinate for me) so I can learn skills so I am not so nervous around dogs or new people.

I would also hope that my new family would have someone home most of the time, and who are not into "Extreme" sports, but who do enjoy getting out into nature for walks daily. As I am a large girl, a home with a fenced back yard where I can play and explore - and even nap in the sun on occasion would be ideal! I would prefer a home without cats, but a dog friend would be wonderful (as long as we got along and had a chance to meet before adoption). As well, although small children might cause me stress, I would do well with older children over 14 years as I am a large dog and will need someone larger to walk me.

If you think I might fit into your family, please fill in an adoption application so you can come down to meet me! I really am very sweet, and just really would like a chance to find a patient and loving home where I can finally relax and feel safe. 💖

Paws & Kisses, Alaska

HOW TO ADOPT

To get started, please review our Adoption Policies and fill out the application form below.

Once your application has been received, selected applicants will be contacted within 48 hours by one
of our Almost Home Canine Rescue team members to conduct a phone screening. This is
an opportunity to go over your adoption application and discuss the overall process. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

ADOPTION APPLICATION

Volunteer - Purple.png

VOLUNTEER

Donate Icon - Purple.png

DONATE

Foster - Purple.png

FOSTER

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER!

MON & TUES:   Closed

WED - FRI:  10:00am - 5:00pm

SAT:  11:00am - 5:00pm

SUN:  11:00am - 4:00pm

ALMOST HOME CANINE RESCUE YYC

(403) 262-4364

almosthomecaninerescue@gmail.com

4089 Ogden Road SE 

Calgary, AB

T2A 3T8

Get Directions

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

By submitting this form, you consent to receive emails from Almost Home Canine Rescue YYC. We will never disclose your private information to third parties. You may unsubscribe at any time by clicking the 'Unsubscribe' link at the bottom of each email.